Relax?

If you have me on Facebook, you will know that I’ve had a rough week.. and me and this whole “laying low, recovery, not doing much”, is absolutely driving me nuts. Surgery itself I’m sure went smoothly, however we learned that anesthetic and me don’t mix well..at all- and morphine does not work on me (unless maintaining the pain but crashing my stats is the plan). The first couple days after surgery were easy because I slept for approximately 20 hours a day. By Sunday I had stopped taking pain medication, more because I hate pain meds and less because the pain was manageable. On Monday I had an MRI for my back and hip, which was probably the most painful experience of my life- as I had to lay on my back where I still have stitches- for 40 minutes and try and stay perfectly still. About 10 minutes in I started praying I would pass out. I didn’t, of course. By Tuesday it physically hurt to lay in any position. Not because of the incision site, but because I’d been laying still for so long my body was protesting. By Wednesday I was up the wall with boredom. I love reading, but I can only read so many books before I completely lose all concentration. I hit that point by the third day into recovery. In 7 days, I’ve gone through 6 good size books. I’ve probably watched more TV in the past week then I have in the past 5 years, and I’m even sick of napping. How is that possible?! Going from being so busy I don’t know what day it is to not knowing what day it is due to lack of a life is quite the transition. But I know its for the best. Proof of that came on Monday after my MRI, I couldn’t function. The whole 3 hours I spent away from the house completely wore me out, granted I was in horrible pain for part of the day. Tuesday I spent around the house, and it was my registration time in the afternoon- and after fighting with scheduling for 2 hours- I was really not feeling good. Seriously, if I did anything but stay still I got dizzy, and nauseous. Thankfully by Thursday I started feeling better. This weekend I spent at Lake of the Prairies, doing some fishing and a lot more reading. Tomorrow, finally, I get my stitches out. And this week is starting to look a bit like my old schedule. Which I am ever so grateful for. I’m not sure I could handle much more laying around the house.

As I mentioned earlier, I am finally all registered for classes this fall and winter.  And I did achieve a B in my anatomy class (!!!)- thank heavens, I wasn’t sure where I was going to fit it in if I needed to retake it. My schedule is pretty packed full. In the winter semester I’ll be in classes 6 days a week. Not really surprising, though, knowing me. This week I start back at work, which will hopefully take my mind off of not riding. I figured that I would be able to handle the riding withdrawal as I spent 4 months earlier this year doing just that- not riding, by choice.  But I forgot how hard it is. It was equally as hard back then too. Hopefully it won’t be 4 months before I’m in the saddle again. I caught myself getting teary watching people ride horses on a tv show the other day. Really. Also going through some serious exercise withdrawal. At least last time I took a break from riding I could do other things to keep active. Right now though, I can’t even stretch my lower body. Which does not feel good. Actually, my SI joint has been decent this week. Probably because I haven’t been riding. The real problem is my hip, and glutes. They are very hard to stretch when I can’t lay on my back and I’m laying on my stomach all the time. So very excited for when it doesn’t hurt to lay flat anymore! Soon, soon. I’m realizing that I apparently only have patience when working with horses, or coaching. In all other aspects of my life.. not so much.

 

Leave a Reply

